A Furious Battle With Major US Farm Implement Maker, John Deere, Leads To Small Victory For Me

All my long life I felt I had to fight like a fiend for simple things.  In my elder years, I think it is a nonstop battle of wits and strength and being nice means being cheated.  I just ended an immense several-day long battle with Corporate America.  I bought this lawn tractor two years ago and two weeks after the warranty ended, it totally broke down due to a very small ring bearing breaking rendering it useless.  I and my friends (particularly Peter!) rebuild things so we ordered the small part and were told it would come in a few days.

 

Two weeks later, I began seriously buzzing the dealership for my missing part.  They got sufficiently scared to call around the nation asking for this part only to learn ‘it is on back order’ with 94 people ahead of me wanting this part first.  This began the Fight From Hell.  ‘What??? 94 people haven’t gotten it yet?’ I yelled.  ‘Are you all crazy?’

 

The dealer paled and said, ‘I don’t know.’  I then bared my arms and said, ‘Well, I do know.  You will call corporate headquarters and tell them to find my missing parts!  Warn them that I can’t wait until it snows, I need it now or else.’

 

So, he did and corporate head called me up.  ‘We don’t make the part you want,’ the lady said.  ‘What the hell?’  I said, ‘You better tell me who does make this part so I can sue them.’  So I was told this corporation did it and called them in a fury threatening to sue them for $5,000.  I then learned they cut their relations with the big corporation and the biggie one was lying.

 

In a rage, I assailed the headquarters until they coughed up the real supplier.  I called up them with many threats and demands and they said they didn’t make it, either.  Three smaller corporations made the parts!  Well, this resembled a Russian doll.  One inside the other with the outside layers claiming they knew nothing.  I then went to the dealer and said, ‘I guess I will start with suing YOU first.’

 

This caused him to cry out in pain and he proved to me that the corporate heads were lying because the name of the corporation that said they had three smaller ones making it had their corporate name on the missing part!  Ah ha!  I got them cornered so I called them back in triumph.

 

They folded.  They admitted they were told to not make the parts available so customers would be unable to fix thing and then be forced to buy, instead of a $25 part, the entire transaxle for $250.  Ahem.  And this way, everyone makes more money.  So I called the big corporation that sold me the tractor and said, ‘You and ONLY you are responsible for this so give me my part now or I sue you.’  Then, I went to corporate head’s url online and it featured this big ad:

 

WE SELL TRACTOR PARTS!  Worse, it was illustrated with…the part I needed and which they didn’t sell!!!!  I fell out of my chair laughing and said, ‘I got them cornered now!’  And…several things happened in one hour: the ad was pulled, the corporate head apologized and further, gave me a new transaxle for free and installed it.  And I still said I was going to torment them in the future if they continue to refuse to sell parts so I can fix my equipment.

 

Anyone wondering why our economy crawls along simply has to deal with corporations who view us as sheep to fleece and cheating opportunities to see how this doesn’t work in the long run.  Of course, I played very hard ball, using the metaphorical base ball bat on their noggings to get my way and one executive whined that ‘You are a mean woman.’  HAHAHA.  Very mean indeed and now I have a working tractor again, thank you.

 


sunset borger

side picture begging boneEmail:

emeinel@fairpoint.net

MAILING ADDRESS:

EMS NEWS

209 Greenhollow Rd

Petersburgh, NY 12138

Make checks out to ‘Elaine Supkis’

Click on the Pegasus icon on the right sidebar to donate via Paypal.

 

sunset borger

 

 

21 Comments

Filed under .money matters

21 responses to “A Furious Battle With Major US Farm Implement Maker, John Deere, Leads To Small Victory For Me

  1. Christian W

    Don’t buy American crap! :p

  2. melponeme_k

    Corporations and the elite don’t view us as people, they just view us as ATM machines. No customer service required for machines. I’m glad you are getting your tractor fixed.

    OT

    CDC bringing an ebola infected American back to the US.

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/07/31/ebola-patient-coming-to-u_n_5639847.html

  3. Luc

    Off topic [i cant find related comments]..from youtube comments:

    ‘A very significant day.. 1st Plane Thursday 17th.. 2nd Plane Thursday 24th.. Dow Crash Thursday 31st.. Lets break out the Illuminati Calculator.. X37-B times 317 = 11,729 points. The Dow will make a correction low of 11,729 by September 15th. Everyone will be selling paper and buying metals starting August 16th. Glad I tuned in.’

  4. Shirt

    Sometimes you enrage me, sometimes amuse me… This time I love you! May I direct your talents to AT&T? They’ve told me a hundred time they have MLB. They do not have MLB. NOT F&*KING at all. And from sales personnel to help chats, they ALL lie.

    And they’re so sincere about it too.

  5. DK

    My wife has a 6 year old Mailmate paper shredder that stopped working.
    I had to find out how to take it apart from the internet because it was not obvious.

    Turns out all that was wrong was a blown fuse.
    The fuse was soldered to the circuit board.

    Replaced it with an external fuse holder and it works fine.
    A design like this would not be sold in a sane society.

    Got a kick out of this reply on the site.

    “I took my mailmate out into the driveway. got in my truck and ran over it two or three times. it doesn’t work any better but I feel great.”

  6. vengeur

    The corporations pull this sh*t on parts all the time. “Oh, you have to buy the entire assembly, we do not sell that individual part”. Good for you to beat them.

  7. emsnews

    I caught them only because they stupidly decided to advertise that they DID have the parts including the one I was demanding!

    If I didn’t reel in that fish, I would have had a weaker case. But yes, this refusal to stock parts for repair is all over the place. But in the case of cars and tractors, usually they are not that stupid.

    They know we repair these much more expensive things and it is very dangerous to play the ‘I am too dumb to supply parts’ game with vehicle owners.

    Nonetheless, they DID choose to play that stupid game! I was frankly astonished and of course told them I would boycott their corporation for the rest of my life. In a farm community that has a long memory and gossips.

    Everyone in town knows I was fighting John Deere and were cheering me on.

  8. e sutton

    Once upon a time John Deere was a reputable company that stood behind their products. Don’t get me started on Sears Craftman Tools, which for decades were held in the very highest esteem by repairmen, electricians, etc., and is now nothing but cheap crap that breaks off in your hands. Everybody’s out for the cheap, dishonest buck.

  9. Moe

    What Elaine (who is one tough cookie), possibly didn’t realize is that most parts are generic. Bearings typically are not proprietary, and are off-the-shelf items available in most bearing supply stores. I would never have gone through the hassle she did, I would simply replace the part, and move on, since bearings are usually very inexpensive.

    There is a secondary perspective on the repair of power-driven machines that bugs me even more (yes, even more!) than the failure of the manufacturer to provide reasonable post-warranty support, and that is the incorporation of design features that render machine repair very difficult.

    My buddy sent me an old chainsaw last winter, which I have just got around to repairing. It is a 1981 Homelite XL75, 57 cc saw. This is an extremely well made saw, the compression is very good. The fuel line had disintegrated into several pieces, so I replaced it, (easier said than done!), at a cost of $3. Now runs like a top. This is exactly the size of saw one needs for bucking up large diameter firewood, ranch work, etc. Too small for falling any volume of large trees, but for our cottage usage, is the perfect size.

    I bring this up because here is a thirty-three year-old saw, made in North America, built like a tank (though not of the quality of premier saws), with metal, not plastic, components, that will cut as well as a modern saw, and possibly better on a head-to-head, horsepower, or engine displacement rating.

    I know I’m sounding curmudgeonly, but my point is, all that is new is not necessarily ‘better’. I can affect repairs to my vehicles, but how many drivers today can do that? Have you ever looked under the hood of a modern snowmobile? I own, and have owned, several. They’re like a f**king car: four-stroke, electronic, and computerized engine control, fuel injection, etc. My buddy at the lake last winter couldn’t replace his machine’s spark plugs without lifting the engine! (Ever try that at minus 40?). Both of my machines were two-stroke, hand recoil start, and I got them both going that day at minus 41 degrees (but not without a lot of effort!).

    I’m running a 1956 12 HP Evinrude outboard motor on my 14 foot boat. I leave this boat, and motor combination at the lake landing that I access by trail from the road, and leave my larger unit at the cottage, three miles across the lake. (My cottage access is across the lake only). Ever since I had an engine stolen a few years ago, I won’t leave a newer engine where accessibility is easy. So anyway, once I rebuilt this engine, it runs like a top, looks like shit, and so will never be stolen. One of my fellow cottagers also has a 1956 Evinrude: same deal, starts it up a few times a year, and takes his smaller boat for local fishing: runs like new.

    So my point of this rant is that what is popular, trendy, or prevalent now, is not necessarily better than what has preceded it. But this is the assumption with all things ‘new’: it’s gotta be better ’cause it’s new. It’s all legerdemain, (deceitful). What is ‘new’, is obviously NOT better.

    And I realize Elaine, that this is not the point you are making. Kudos for fighting (and beating!) these a-holes. I wish we lived in the same neighborhood, since community spirit in the coming tough times will be everything.

  10. Christian Witting

    I read about a guy who’s driven his 1991 Mercedes over 3.4 MILLION kilometers and it’s still going strong… This is of course a non-computerized diesel engine still running in it’s original configuration. I guess manufacturers simply don’t care to make things too indestructible anymore, not enough money to earn if they do…

  11. Luc

    ‘They folded. They admitted they were told to not make the parts available so customers would be unable to fix thing and then be forced to buy, instead of a $25 part, the entire transaxle for $250.’
    Yr story reminds me of getting plumbing supplies at Home Depot and finding the goods inferior and made in China.

  12. melponeme_k

    OT

    Russia asking Apple for its source code to combat NSA spying.

    http://www.tuaw.com/2014/07/31/russian-government-requests-apple-source-code/

  13. Christian Witting

    @Mel

    Nice touch. Of course if Apple refuse they must be seen as hostile to Russia and the Russians have to take appropriate action.

  14. larry, dfh

    Mercedez 220 and 240 diesels were some of the best IC engines ever made. I’m not surprised that they lasted 3 million km. I am surprised that their sub-standard coach-work and shitty metallurgy lasted that long. I inherited a 220D which got dubbed the ‘Fred Flintstone car’ because there were basically no floorboards left. It made it under its own power to the junk yard. Traded it for $5 (a ‘twel’ pack) and the ashtray.
    Sears M.O. used to be to approach a supplier and appeal to their greedy side: we’ll order from you but we need to be able to stock all our stores. So the supplier would forgo the regular customers for the ‘big time’ Sears contract. Well, that contract would not be renewed, and the supplier would end up getting bought by Sears.
    This failure to support products is especially true in the electronics biz We’ve had to discard good scanners because the operating systems obsolete them. I think the operating systems also have time bombs built in. I know there are alot of complaints about this stuff, but consumer product protection is a thing of the past.
    Elaine good for you, Gal. That should teach them to disrespect a farmer. But I doubt they’ll learn.

  15. emsnews

    My friends and I love to fiddle with stuff that is ‘broken’ and we fix things that are from WWII, for example (‘Built like a tank! stuff) and yes, more modern=more difficult to fix but even then,we can fix these…if we can get key parts.

    And the enemy, corporate America, knows this and deliberately sabotages this by making it literally impossible to get simple, key parts. Or to make it super tricky to get into the innards.

    Of course, I often use the ‘attack with power tools and destroy’ mission when this happens and then rebuild it with a new shell or cover or whatever.

  16. Luc

    disposable consumerism.

  17. CK

    You do realize that: doing it yourself, repairing old useable equipment and tools, keeping cars running for millions of kilometers, buying parts instead of buying assemblies is just another way to destroy strong unions and replacing them with weak companies and “right to work” “fire at will” companies? Just another insidious Frankfurt School way to
    put middle class America on the dole and replace union workers with border crossing non-assimilating, non-Citizens?
    Yeah I hope you are proud of getting millions of American Heroes
    of Labour fired and millions of American companies being forced to move outside the US taxation borders.
    Just so you can save a few pennies. But woe is the person who in attempting to save a few of their pennies imports Australian or New Zealand lamb and wool. Those are evil Americans; those chasers after minimum cost and a few extra pennies in the monthly budget.
    ( The preceding paragraphs might be snark, might be irony, but we all love a Davida vs Goliath story don’t we.)

  18. emsnews

    As an OWNER of say, a car or home or horse or anything, I would be a fool to not protect, repair, conserve and make it workable.

    For my purchases are INVESTMENTS. Not idle consumption.

  19. Jim R

    Good applications for 3d printers are all around, then. And the union dudes can get their own 3d printers.

  20. Hardrock

    Elaine,

    You are one tough, smart cookie and we need more women, well, people actually just like you. I don’t agree with you on many things but I am really glad to see you shove it up their backside!

    Glad to see you still firing on all cylinders!

    Hardrock

Leave a Reply

