Contemplation About Saving A Bumblebee From Drowning

It finally stopped raining. The cats and puppies all went outside with me to romp around in the sunshine. We had little sun this spring.  The birds and the bees were all out, too, visiting the bird feeders.  We have feeders for all sorts of creatures, hummingbird feeders, all sorts of seed sizes for different birds including something for woodpeckers.  No, I don’t leave out rotting flesh for our vultures here, they find this on their own.  Well, a bumbly bee fell into the puppy water dish and was drowning.  So I saved her.

 

She was soaking wet and I lifted her out so she could cling to my forefinger.  We then went to a sunny corner of the garden and she began to flail her wings to dry them off.  She has multiple eye lenses and was definitely looking at me as I walked along the garden, seeking the best flower for her for she was exhausted and needed energy badly.

 

All my red flowers were now in afternoon shade so I went to the raspberry bush which is in late bloom due to the rather cold, wet spring.  Madame Bumblebee refused to leave my finger so I gently pushed her onto the berry bush leaf.  She then touched the white flower and then climbed up to it and began drinking.

 

For a half a hour, she probed it while she dried off then she flew off.  The hive mind of bees always fascinates me for they can ‘see’ and ‘think’ in their own way and they definitely categorize their world to take into account various creatures around them.

 

For example, they know the sheep would eat them if they stayed on a flower too long and would buzz off but not too far for the sheep were not dangerous, otherwise, unlike predators who attack bees.  They are highly aware of these critters!

 

Humans also have a hive mind.  It is hard to escape.  People think they are ‘rational’ when they are merely participating in the hive mind.  Computers are an exaggeration of the hive mind of humans intersecting with the logic systems of pure math.  Food for thought, I dare say.

 

Ah, the hummingbird just came to check out the new table I set up for the sunflower seed feeder.  It then ‘scanned’ the sunflower feeder to see if it had also changed but it is the same so it then flew to its super red/yellow juice bar feeder and then darted off.

 

I can’t wait for all the baby birds to get their feathers next month in June and come to the feeder to learn how to perch, take off, pull out seeds, break them open, fight with each other, etc.  Always good for a laugh.

 

A thought occurred to me: bees would be great Go players by nature.  It would be like building the honey storage units of a bee hive which isn’t even at all but built according to relationships of each other and who can get more to deposit their honey in point A rather than randomly.  Bee hives are not random at all, they are quite structured.

 

 

 

 

9 Comments

Filed under .money matters

9 responses to “Contemplation About Saving A Bumblebee From Drowning

  1. Jim R

    Bumblebees don’t make honey. but they do have a hive — they nest in holes in the ground. I’m not sure if they dig them, or re-use holes that were already there. I think they build a paper nest inside the hole.

    At my previous house, in a different part of Texas, I once had a bumblebee nest in my yard. I was mowing the grass one day, and noticed a bumblebee kind of hanging around. Then it started coming toward me. Then another one appeared, and another … so I stopped mowing and went inside. Later I figured out where the nest was, and avoided it the rest of that summer. Most of my neighbors would have gone for the poison.

    Then about ten years ago, there was a yellowjacket nest at the base of a bush in my yard. That year, I did some pruning, and decided to remove the bush; I don’t know why, but the yellowjackets did not sting me at that time.

    But it got to be October (still warm weather here in Texas), and the nest was close enough to my sidewalk that I was worried about trick-or-treat kids stepping in it as they made their rounds. It saddened me, but I had to eliminate them. When I finally dug it up, the hole had an amazingly large nest in it, with multiple layers of hexagonal paper cells.

  2. Ziff

    Which hummer species ?

  3. /the hummingbirds here on this mountain tend to be the ‘common’ kind but are quite dark in color, I suppose due to the colder climate and darker colored forest, while in Tucson, they were around in winter and were very colorful and greater variety, it being nearer to the jungles in Central America.

  4. ziff

    You need a bird guide !

  5. JimmyJ

    And there’s the reason I come to your blog Elaine, your sensitivity to the world around you. Thanks for your story.

    Near a local transit bus stop this morning there was a patch of sidewalk grass, about 2ft by 15ft, with a lot of bees flying around so I investigated. Sure enough the patch was full of solitary bee burrows, one next to another. It was fun to watch the bees come and go until the bus came. There was a handful of folks but no one else showed the slightest interest.

    I like to watch the insect world anyway, but especially the bee world to see how the none honeybee insects take over the pollination from the devastated honeybee populations. When I lived up north you could easily track the populations of domestic and wild honeybees tapering down one year to the next and the bumble and solitary bees taking over pollination more and more. Down in the City (Vancouver) I see a lot of solitary bee burrows around in sidewalks. But happily there are domestic bee hives scattered around as well so I see them too. And some eco stores sell mason bee kits too.

  6. Pete

    Flight of the Bumble Bee – John Fletcher

  7. Tacitus

    After the nectar …..

  8. John Vincent Nicholson

    Wonderfull article that’s really what one could call a Chronicle. Thank you for this as I was needing to remeber the relations between the individual and the hive.

  9. Thank you, it is good to go out to Nature and get one’s head on straight.

Leave a Reply

